Meet The Designers

cupcakes goodness, books, doodles, random wild ideas

Aspiring to be a design writer, let’s not be afraid.

with 2 comments

It’s  incredibly difficult to kick-start something new.  I do dream big. My small actions of today are fast drowning them thou. I’m  half-way through a marketing career where you have to churn endless fortnightly industry newsletters, creating promotional flyers, planning events and the cycle goes on and on. Perhaps I have been in this company  far too long. It’s clocking 5 years in April 2011! Life is less challenging where it operates smoothly like a circuit. Except for few mental crashes, but very rare.

Wedding plans and our new home is in the pipeline. What’s next? I grew restless after completing my distance learning in 2009.  I am keen to pack up and embark another academic journey overseas. With age and a partner along the way, I am no longer a risk taker. I detest this growing trait where I am  overly concern with financial stability and quality of life. But hey! I am not even 30s.

I frequently amend the blueprints on how my life should be. I ask myself what do I truly want. Then I question myself do I really know what I want? And does getting what I want, is  necessary? With all sorts of questions and uncertainties, it builds more fluff for unhappiness and disillusion on what’s the road ahead.

Today, I stumbled upon a website – Glelatobaby. Her blog site is a strong encouragement and motivates me that I can be a successful design writer too. I do not have a good foundation in English grammar, and often my writings at work are being heavily criticized. I lost my confidence in writing and losing hope that I can ever be a writer, let alone published a book or as a career!

I guess the most immediate step is to keep writing and writing. Uncover stories in humid hot Singapore. Dig out aspiring designers, what’s hot and trendy in the art and design culture in Singapore/Asia, spot new and inspiring ideas to breed new thoughts.

It all boils down to hard work and a deep passion for things I care about – Arts and Design!! Making a living out of the things we love, will be a sheer joy! As I take an active step forward, I dream to be a successful design writer, publish my own book  plus my  line of stationery . To top it off,  to run a cafe that decks with art and design books will be really nice.

Tomorrow and many days ahead will be better days!

Written by poppy

September 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm

Posted in Thoughts

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you love to write? If so, press on… listen to your critics and find ways to improve your writing for that particular target audience.

    Here’s a quote by David Sedaris of the New Yorker that hits the spot for me. He said, “Writing gives you the illusion of control, and then you realize it’s just an illusion, that people are going to bring their own stuff into it.”

    TheContentGuy

    September 9, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    • That’s so right on, TheContentGuy!

      I do love writing. Sentences of expressions/thoughts are constantly forming in my mind. And I’m thinking what’s the next thing I can write and share about.

      Will let it flow~ Thanks!

      Diana Koh

      September 9, 2010 at 9:56 pm


Leave a Reply

